The Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize recognizes individuals whose original translational research has advanced cellular reprogramming technology for regenerative medicine.

The prize was established in 2015, through a generous gift from the Betty and Hiro Ogawa Family, and is supported by Gladstone Institutes. It recognizes the importance of induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells, discovered by Gladstone Senior Investigator and Nobel Laureate Shinya Yamanaka, MD, PhD.

2023 Prize

Nominations for the 2023 prize are now closed.


A ceremony will be held on November 16, 2023, at Gladstone, during which the awardee will give a scientific lecture and be presented with the award, along with an unrestricted prize of $150,000 USD.

If you’re interested in attending the livestream of the 2023 award ceremony, pre-register for the webinar on Zoom.

Gladstone and Cell Press Partnership for Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize logos

Gladstone is proud to partner with Cell Press to support this important prize.

Each year, the awardee is honored during a ceremony hosted by Gladstone Institutes in San Francisco, California. The recipient gives a scientific lecture and is presented with the award, along with an unrestricted prize of $150,000 USD.

Register to watch a livestream of the award ceremony

Headshot of Juan Carlos Izpisua Belmonte


Juan Carlos Izpisua Belmonte, PhD

Director of the San Diego Institute of Science of Altos Labs

Izpisua Belmonte was selected for his work leading to innovations in cellular rejuvenation programming and its promise for the improvement of aging and age-associated diseases.

Headshot of Juan Carlos Izpisua Belmonte


Gordon Keller, PhD

Director of the McEwen Stem Cell Institute at the University Health Network in Toronto, Canada

A world-renowned stem cell scientist, Keller was selected for his contributions to efficient lineage-specific differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells into a myriad of cell types, enabling disease modeling and regenerative medicine approaches for many human diseases.

Headshot of Gordon Keller


Marius Wernig, MD, PhD

Associate Professor at the Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine at Stanford University

Wernig was selected for his innovative direct neuronal reprogramming technology, and for his contributions to the advancement of therapies for genetic diseases based on iPS cells”. His groundbreaking research has advanced the development of disease models for neurological diseases and skin disorders.

Headshot of Marius Wernig


Lorenz P. Studer, MD

Director of the Center for Stem Cell Biology and member of the Developmental Biology Program at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

A distinguished stem cell biologist, Studer was selected for his transformative contributions to the field of cellular reprogramming and the application of human iPS cells to human disease. His groundbreaking research has advanced the therapeutic potential of stem cell–based therapies in Parkinson’s disease and other neurological disorders.

Headshot of Lorenz Studer


Douglas Melton, PhD

Co-director of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, Xander University Professor at Harvard University, Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Melton was honored for his research that led to a novel way to reprogram human stem cells into insulin-producing beta cells. His work provides the foundation for the ultimate goal of transplanting patient-specific beta cells to treat diabetes.

Headshot of Doug Melton


Masayo Takahashi, MD, PhD

Project Leader, Laboratory for Retinal Regeneration at the RIKEN Centre for Developmental Biology

Takahashi was honored for her trailblazing research that led to the first clinical trial to use induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells in humans. Her work paves the way for using stem cells to treat retinal diseases, including macular degeneration.