Deepak Srivastava and his team are focused on the gene networks that guide the development of the heart, seeking to understand how aberrations in these pathways can cause congenital heart disease, and how this knowledge can help generate new cardiac cells to repair heart damage. One powerful approach his team uses is creating models of heart disease in a dish by reprogramming human cells from patients carrying mutations in cardiac developmental genes, editing them with CRISPR technology, and analyzing changes at the single cell level. This has led them to discover perturbations in pivotal genetic pathways that contribute to disease, and identified the nodes that can be therapeutically targeted to restore heart cells to normal function.

Disease Areas

Cardiac Valve Disease
Congenital Heart Disease
Heart Failure

Areas of Expertise

CRISPR and Gene Editing
Developmental Biology
Human Genetics
Regenerative Medicine
Stem Cells and iPS Cells

Lab Focus

Modeling human cardiovascular diseases using single-cell approaches in animal models and induced pluripotent stem cells from patients with genetically defined disease.
Investigating how combinations of human mutations or polymorphisms in cardiac developmental genes predispose to disease.
Identifying targetable signaling, transcriptional, and translational nodes that can be manipulated for regenerative medicine or other therapeutic approaches to directly reprogram non-myocytes into new cardiomyocytes for cardiac regeneration.

Research Impact

Srivastava’s lab leveraged the lessons of cardiac developmental biology to directly reprogram resident non-muscle cells in the mouse heart into cells that function like heart muscle cells, effectively regenerating heart muscle after damage. This new paradigm of harnessing endogenous cells to regenerate organs may be broadly applicable to other organs.

Similarly, the team used knowledge of developmental cell-cycle regulators to unlock the post-mitotic state in adult cardiomyocytes and stimulate enough stable cell division to regenerate cardiac muscle in the adult. They also revealed the mechanisms underlying human disease caused by mutations in cardiac developmental regulators using human iPS cells, and used this knowledge to screen for novel therapeutic approaches to disease.


Professional Titles

President, Gladstone Institutes

The Younger Family Professor, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease, Gladstone Institutes

Director, Roddenberry Stem Cell Center, Gladstone Institutes

Professor, Department of Pediatrics, UC San Francisco


Deepak Srivastava is president of Gladstone Institutes. He is also the Younger Family Professor and a senior investigator at the Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease, and director of the Roddenberry Stem Cell Center. At UC San Francisco, Srivastava is a professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Biochemistry and Biophysics, and is the Wilma and Adeline Pirag Distinguished Professor in pediatric developmental cardiology.

Before joining Gladstone in 2005, Srivastava was a professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the National Academy of Medicine. Srivastava currently serves as president of the International Society for Stem Cell Research and is on the editorial boards of the journals Cell and Cell Stem Cell. In addition, Srivastava has co-founded two biotechnology companies, iPierian Inc. and Tenaya Therapeutics, and chaired their scientific advisory boards.

How Did You Get Your Start in Science?

“I fell in love with science as a medical student and this was reinforced after repeatedly experiencing the limitations of modern clinical medicine.”

Deepak Srivastava, MD

Honors and Awards

2019 President, International Society for Stem Cell Research

2017 Upstart 50 Inventor Award, San Francisco Business Times

2016 Andras Varro Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Sciences, International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences

2015 World Affairs Council Award, San Francisco, CA

2014 Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

2014 Elected to the International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences

2013 Editorial Board, Cell and Cell Stem Cell

2013 Bay Bio Pantheon Award for Scientific Achievement

2013 Best Manuscript Award, Circulation Research

2013 Outstanding Investigator Award, International Society for Heart Research

2013 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of Texas Medical Branch

2012 Lovett C. Peters Lecturer, Pioneer Institute

2012 George E. Brown Memorial Lecturer, American Heart Association

2012 Daniel McNamara Memorial Lecturer, Texas Children’s Hospital

2012 American Pediatric Society (Elected)

2012 Abraham White Scientific Achievement Award

2011 American Association for the Advancement of Science (Fellow)

2010 American Heart Association (Fellow)

2010 American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Elected)

2008 Mavis P. Kelsey Lecturer, Texas Medical Center

2007 E. Mead Johnson Award, Society for Pediatric Research

2006 Wendy and Leonard Goldberg Lecturer, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

2005 Wilma and Adeline Pirag Distinguished Professorship in Pediatric Developmental Cardiology

2004 American Society for Clinical Investigators (Elected)

2004 Society for Pediatric Research (Elected)

2004 Outstanding Contributions in Medicine Award, Dallas Asian Chamber of Commerce

2003 Barbara Bowman Memorial Lecturer

2003 American Society of Clinical Investigators

2002 Pogue Distinguished Chair in Research on Cardiac Birth Defects

2000 Denison Young Memorial Lecturer

2000 Joel B. Steinberg Chair in Pediatrics

1998 Richard Rowe Award, Society for Pediatric Research

1998 Young Investigator Award, Perinatal Research Society

1997 Patrick J. Niland Memorial Lecturer, University of Michigan

1996 Louis and Arnold Katz Basic Science Award, American Heart Association (Finalist)

1995 Young Investigator Award, American Heart Association

1995 Basic Science Research Award, Society for Pediatric Research

1993 National Institute of Health Pediatric Scientist Development Award

1990 Medical Student Research Award, University of Texas Medical Branch

1990 Magna Cum Laude, University of Texas Medical Branch

1986 University of Texas Academic Excellence Award


More Publications


Deepak Srivastava


Bethany Taylor
Chief of Staff

Lab Members

Michael Alexanian, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Bonnie Cole
Graduate Student
Mauro Costa, PhD
Staff Research Scientist I
Qiming Duan, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Karena Essex
Senior Administrative Assistant
Franco Felix
Research Associate I
Giselle Galang
Visiting Researcher
Casey Gifford, PhD
Staff Scientist
Barbara Gonzalez Teran, PhD
Beixin He, MD, PhD
Visiting Postdoc
Yu Huang, MS
Senior Research Technologist
Kathryn Ivey, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Zhen Jiang, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Frances Koback
Research Assistant
Clara Lee
Research Assistant
Kihyun Lee, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Alex Merriman
Graduate Student
Alexander Merriman
Graduate Student
Tomo Nishino, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Arun Padmanabhan, MD, PhD
Visiting Postdoc
Angelo Pelonero, MS
Bioinformatician I
Jeeves Ranade, PhD
Bethany Taylor, MPA
Chief of Staff
Christina Theodoris, MD, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Joke van Bemmel, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Vasanth Vedantham, MD, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Langley Wallace
Student Intern
Lin Ye, PhD
Staff Research Scientist II
Pengzhi Yu, PhD
Visiting Postdoc
Yu Zhang, MD, PhD
Visiting Scientist
Ping Zhou, MD
Senior Research Associate
Lili Zhu, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar