You are here

Nomination Criteria

The Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize is awarded with an unrestricted cash prize of $150,000 USD. The prize may be equally shared by multiple awardees.

Nominations for the 2019 prize will be open from April 1 to May 15, 2019.

Nomination Criteria

  • Independent investigator in stem cell biology or regenerative medicine
  • Nominee does not have to be a United States Citizen
  • Nominee does not have to work in the United States
  • Must be available to attend the award ceremony on November 6, 2019 at the Gladstone Institutes in San Francisco, California, and present their research

Selection Committee
The 2019 Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize winner will be announced in June 2019. The selection committee is composed of:

  • George Daley, MD, PhD
    Dean, Harvard Medical School
  • Hideyuki Okano, MD, PhD
    Dean of the School of Medicine, Keio University
  • Deepak Srivastava, MD
    Pesident of the Gladstone Institutes and Director of the Roddenberry Stem Cell Center at Gladstone
  • Lorenz Studer, MD
    Director of the Center for Stem Cell Biology, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Fiona Watt, FRS, FMedSci
    Director, Centre for Stem Cells & Regenerative Medicine, King’s College London
  • Shinya Yamanaka, MD, PhD
    Senior investigator, Gladstone Institutes; Director of the Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Kyoto University