You are here

Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize


Nominations for the 2017 Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize are now being accepted until April 15, 2017.


The Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize recognizes individuals whose original translational research has advanced cellular reprogramming technology for regenerative medicine. The prize was established in 2015 through a generous gift from Hiro and Betty Ogawa and is supported by the Gladstone Institutes. The awardee(s) receives an unrestricted prize of $150,000 USD. 

The Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell awardee(s) will be honored during an event hosted by the Gladstone Institutes in San Francisco, California. This event includes a brief ceremony followed by the awardee(s) presentation of their prize-winning research.

Past Recipients

Douglas Melton, PhD
Co-director of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, Xander University Professor at Harvard University, Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Melton was honored for his research that led to a novel way to reprogram human stem cells into insulin-producing beta cells. His work provides the foundation for the ultimate goal of transplanting patient-specific beta cells to treat diabetes.
Masayo Takahashi, MD, PhD
Project Leader, Laboratory for Retinal Regeneration at the RIKEN Centre for Developmental Biology

Takahashi was honored for her trailblazing research that led to the first clinical trial to use induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells in humans. Her work paves the way for using stem cells to treat retinal diseases, including macular degeneration.


Stem Cell

Selection Committee

George Daley, MD, PhD
Professor of Hematology/Oncology
Director, Stem Cell Transplantation Program
Boston Children’s Hospital

Hideyuki Okano, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Physiology
Chairman, Graduate School of Medicine
Keio University

Deepak Srivastava, MD
Director, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease
Director, Roddenberry Center for Stem Cell Biology and Medicine
Gladstone Institutes

Marius Wernig, MD
Associate Professor
Stanford Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Shinya Yamanaka, MD, PhD
Senior Investigator
Gladstone Institutes and
Kyoto University